When dish washing makes you crotchety…crotchet some dishcloths!

My home decorating aesthetic could be described  a lot of different ways…eclectic, vintage, second-hand, and floral just about cover the main themes though. 

I like to add strategic pops of color around the house–making my own curtains, or painting an old coffee table and shelves to refresh their look is the easy route to giving a dull room some pizzazz. But right now I’m really into updating my kitchen linens. Cottons? Cloths?

The point is, there’s this super awesome rad nonprofit creative reuse center where I live called The Scrap Exchange where I bought half a dozen bunches of cotton yarn for oh, six bucks. I don’t know how to read a crochet pattern to save my life, but when I was about seven my grandma showed me how to do chain, single- and double-crochet stitches. She did granny squares, and I ended up making excessively ruffled capes for my dolls.

Now, I make dishcloths! They don’t lay flat, and they’re not shaped perfectly, but it’s awfully nice to have a project that only takes a couple of hours and doesn’t require fussy material or counting stitches. It’s relaxing, makes washing dishes slightly more palatable, and I’m using reclaimed materials. Triple win!

Behold, scrubbies*:

Floral and striped and ruffled oh my!

Floral and striped and ruffled oh my!

*In the interest of full disclosure, two of these were actually knitted. #stillcounts

2 responses to “When dish washing makes you crotchety…crotchet some dishcloths!

  1. love the scrubbies !! 🙂

Leave a Reply

