Nope, not spaghetti

Crock-pot cooking...now this is on my level!

Crock-pot cooking…now this is on my level!

Crafting can take you down strange paths.  Right now the odor of wet wool and Kool-Aid is wafting about and let me tell you–that’s a special smell.

So a few days ago I was minding my own business spinning a new batch of yarn. It turned out beautifully, particularly given the fact that it was the first time I tried plying:

photo 1 (7)

I had a gorgeous hank of yarn ready to use…but it was so bland. There is not one jot of cream in my house, so this obviously would not do! As it turns out, you don’t actually need specialty equipment or strong chemicals to get a basic dye job done.

I dumped all all the  yarn in my hand-dandy crock-pot, added 4 packets of unsweetened Kool-Aid, a dash of white vinegar, and then soaked it all down in warm water. I let it cook on the lowest setting for about three hours, and by the time I looked at it again, the fiber had sucked up literally all of the color. Rinsing the yarn didn’t produce much run-off color, and everything I’ve read indicates this will be pretty much colorfast, which is awesome.

The finished product turned out really well! It doesn’t show very well in this photo, but I used all of the ‘warm’ colors available–yellow, strawberry pink, orange and red, and there’s variation throughout.  I can’t wait for it to dry so I can start knitting. What should I make with this batch of yarn?!?

Oooh la la! Talk about some bright colors.

Oooh la la! Talk about some bright colors.

One response to “Nope, not spaghetti

  1. Have you made anything with it yet?

Leave a Reply

